Better Food for a Better World

Vivienne Bastain’s life is an emotional roller-coaster ride, taking her from San Francisco to Paris to New York, with one constant: her mother Denise who is psychopathically needy for a love that will not leave her. This need escalates to dangerous duplicity, destroying her daughter’s sense of self, making her easy prey for manipulation and betrayal by others. Vivienne becomes world-famous as a costume jewelry designer, and along the way are men who warp the concept of love and a woman who does the same with friendship. There is only one man, Jack, whose love for Vivienne is as true as the feelings of the others are false. And always there is her mother, Denise, plotting to take back what she believes is her possession and no one else’s: her daughter.

Here is a story about secrets, about lies, about family. Most of all, this is a story about love, defined differently by those who feel it and those who use it.

“She’s lied to me, used me, manipulated me, and hurt me, Lord how she’s hurt me, and I still have this sick loyalty to her. I should hate her, but I don’t. I don’t know how to go forward, to make a life for myself that doesn’t include her, and I don’t want a life that does so what am I supposed to do?”Vivienne Bastain

For fans of Jojo Moyes, Liane Moriarity, Barbara Delinsky, this is a sweeping, contemporary novel about one woman’s journey of self-discovery, a novel that resonates with emotional impact and insight as she learns that love can be a weapon as well as a gift.

“Entrancing from start to finish. Almost impossible to put down and utterly impossible to forget.”
Amazon Customer Review

“A fine new book by a talented author. I recommend this book highly.”
Amazon Customer Review

“A great read–you won’t want to put it down! I highly recommend this book–and Susanne Jaffe’s engaging writing style.”
Amazon Customer Review

““A smart psychological thriller wrapped in romance – I highly recommend it.”Amazon Customer Review

“Jaffe is a master at description. Very engrossing book. I highly recommend it.”Amazon Customer Review